Winona Laird Named Outstanding Volunteer

Since 2003, the Washington State Genealogical Society has recognized more than 400 outstanding volunteers, nominated by their local society or genealogical organization for their service and dedication. These volunteers are the backbone of their local society, giving their time and expertise, to the organization and the field of genealogy. In the coming months, you will be introduced to each of the 2014 award recipients and learn why they received the 2014 WSGS Outstanding Volunteer Award.

Today we’re introducing Winona Laird of Kent, Washington, who was nominated by the Puget Sound Chapter of the Association of Professional Genealogists (PS-APG). She was recognized for her dedication to furthering the quality of genealogical education in Washington State and furthering the goals and operation of the PS-APG.


Winona Laird

Ms. Laird’s commitment to genealogical education has always been evident in her willingness to teach others. She has regularly presented classes on beginning genealogy to historical societies and libraries in the South King County area. She was also the co-founder of the Genealogy Training Center LLC which provides quality genealogy classes from basic to advanced using a hands-on method of teaching as well as keeping up with changing genealogy research and technology.

Ms. Laird is a current member and Past President of the South King County Genealogical Society and coordinator of their Family Tree Makers users’ group. She is also a member of the National Genealogical Society and Federation of Genealogical Societies.

Since last year, Ms. Laird has been the program coordinator for PS-APG and a valued participant of the speakers forum, an interest group of the PS-APG. Her contributions to the PS-APG and the field of genealogy illustrate that she richly deserved being a recipient of a WSGS Outstanding Volunteer Award.

For more information on the WSGS Outstanding Volunteer Award program, visit the Recognition page of the WSGS website or contact Roxanne Lowe, Recognition Chair, at