Natalie Stien Awarded 2017 Outstanding Volunteer Honor

Since 2003, the Washington State Genealogical Society has recognized over 500 outstanding volunteers and teams, nominated by their local society or genealogical organization for their service and dedication. These volunteers are the backbone of their local society, giving their time and expertise, to the organization and the field of genealogy. In the coming months, you will be introduced to each of the 2017 award recipients and learn why they received the 2017 WSGS Outstanding Volunteer and Team Award.

Natalie Stien

Today we’re introducing Natalie Stien of Redmond, Washington, who was nominated by the Jewish Genealogical Society of Washington State (JGSWS). She was recognized for her dedication to excellence during the 2016 International Association of Jewish Genealogical Societies annual (IAJGS) conference in Seattle.

Ms. Stien joined JGSWS in 2004, volunteering right away for various positions. However, her commitment to getting the job done right was exemplified when JGSWS co-hosted the International Association of Jewish Genealogical Societies Annual (IAJGS) Conference in Seattle in August 2016. Ms. Stien served as a volunteer co-chair, a monumental job coordinating dozens of volunteers for the six-day conference. She was the first to arrive and the last to leave every day of the conference, often working 15-hour days. Her responsibilities included determining where volunteers would be needed, finding and adopting a software program that volunteers could use to sign themselves up for specific tasks and time slots, and dealing with last-minute schedule changes.

According to fellow JGSWS board members, Ms. Stien was often the first to volunteer for any extra tasks needed to support the organization. This display of dedication illustrates that Ms. Stien richly deserved being a recipient of a 2017 WSGS Outstanding Volunteer Award.

For more information on the WSGS Outstanding Volunteer Award program, visit the Recognition page of the WSGS website or contact Roxanne Lowe, Interim Recognition Chair, at